Syncro SA - VW Syncro Forum

Full Version: My Synthia
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi gang,

I just had my little girl arrive today, she's a 1992 model Ex-Telstra (telecom) van. This is my very first VW and one I've wanted for many years. My plans are to fit a Subaru EJ25 engine with EJ22 heads and then fit a carby and dizzy on her. Being my first Syncro, I'm not sure how the whole system works, so I'll be asking a few questions and please excuse me if they sound dumb, as I don't have a manual or an operators manual.

1. How does the 4WD system work?
2. How do I check the coolant level in the radiator?
3. What does the "G" mean on the gear stick?

Sorry if these have been answered before but I'm still learning my way around this wonderful website. Oh... here's a pic of Synthia Smile
[Image: Synthia.jpg]
looks really nice welcome to syncro sa.

1. How does the 4WD system work? it is permanent 4wd, SA syncros had front and rear diff locks, actuated by the buttons on the dash, was and option for europe and the states
2. How do I check the coolant level in the radiator? you don't you check it when cold in the pressure bottle in the engine bay
3. What does the "G" mean on the gear stick? "G" is for Gelandegang, which is german for the low or overland gear, it is the gear used for steep obtsacles, thick sand etc.

what motor does it have?

looks in good nick.

stuart
Welcome. Looks like a nice panel van.
Just don't use your diff locks on hard surfaces and only use front one on very soft surfaces.
Russel
(12-04-2013 04:50 PM)syncromad Wrote: [ -> ]looks really nice welcome to syncro sa.

1. How does the 4WD system work? it is permanent 4wd, SA syncros had front and rear diff locks, actuated by the buttons on the dash, was and option for europe and the states