Syncro SA - VW Syncro Forum

Full Version: Immobiliser issues - and a solution!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
So I bought my bus knowing that it had central locking, but it was not turned on, so I have been driving around for the last 5 months without it. Yesterday I discovered the small key that fits into the steering column to turn it on. What I didn't realise is that it also activates the alarm and immobiliser. The problem is that neither of the remotes that I have work, so I couldn't turn it off. So I got stuck at work with the (very loud) alarm going off every time I tried to do anything (turn the small key, disconnect the battery, press the remotes, lock the door, etc.).

Stuart helped me out by telling me how to disable the factory-fitted immobiliser, which I thought might be useful to share with others who may find themselves in the same situation. There is a smallish (100mm x 100mm x 20mm) black box located behind the cubby hole. It has 'Conlog' written on it and if you pull out the two black electrical plugs from it the alarm is deactivated and the bus will start. Evidently the exact position of these things varies (they hide them well, for obvious reasons) but mine was located underneath a galvanised metal plate that holds a set of 5 relays. This is what it looks like:

[attachment=5834]

Now hopefully no skabengas will find this post and go around stealing syncros, but it is not a very easy thing to do, so I doubt it.
No worries about skebangas now being able to steal Syncros, they can do any microbus, Syncro or otherwise, in 36 seconds flat! It's only us owners that get caught out and flummoxed by our own immobilizors ??
yip, the thieves knew this from day one, as John says only the owners dont, you can open and start a bus with out keys and not break a window in less than a minute,